Book Review: Twilight: The Graphic Novel, Vol. 1 (Meyer, Young)

This is a tough one, because so much has been said about the Twilight saga that I feel like I’ll only be parroting old arguments here. In case you’re wondering, no, Edward didn’t turn into a halfway decent character. In fact, the addition of artwork to illustrate his movements and expressions only makes it much, much clearer how threatening and controlling he is. The woods scene (you know, where he starts screaming “As if you could outrun me!”), taken out of context, could be a poster for a relationship abuse hotline. Especially the part where he grabs Bella by the wrists, leans in, and says, “As if you could fight me off…”

Join me in a collective shudder.

But let’s talk about something I can praise! The artwork was nice. I’m not a huge fan of the manga style, but this fell somewhere in between that and realism, the result being something that I quite liked. The characters have a surprisingly wide and meaningful array of expressions, given the source material– Young Kim, the artist, evidently knows her work well. The backgrounds disappointed me, seeming to be nothing more than photographs–some of them possibly screen caps from the movie– run through a Photoshop filter. So, I guess the high peak presented by the art was a narrow one.

All in all, I think this book is well summed up by the fact that the only quote of praise on the cover is actually from Stephenie Meyer.

Leave a Reply

