Book Review: Amulet, Book Three: The Cloud Searchers (Kibuishi)

*ARC Alert*

Amulet: The Cloud Searchers (Book 3) by Kazu Kibuishi was released September 1st, 2010 by Scholastic GRAPHIX’ press (softcover, full-color, $10.99, 208 pages).

If you read graphic novels, you’ve probably heard of Kazu Kibuishi–he’s the guy who created Flight (now in its seventh volume and up for a Cybil this year), and he has two books of his own up in the Cybils running as well–Copper, a collection of webcomics about a boy and his dog, and this third volume of Kibuishi’s popular Amulet series.

To start, I would recommend going back and reading the first two books before picking this one up; I tried to get into it as a stand-alone and had very little idea of what was going on (but it’s well worth it to do the extra reading). This volume deepens the story of the elf king’s sinister rule and takes the focus of the adventure to a larger scale than just Emily and Navin’s family.  Moral complexity is also introduced to the adventure, and this measure of uncertainty in the mission serves to deepen the characters and create suspense for the next volume. Kibuishi’s settings are the most beautifully illustrated part of the book, as usual, but don’t distract from the characters, who are illustrated with greater subtlety than in previous books to suit their new depths. Overall, the series continues to improve with each new book. I look forward to the next one.

6 Responses to Book Review: Amulet, Book Three: The Cloud Searchers (Kibuishi)

  1. love this book! love the background and every thing i want too make a book like yours but it would be more manga anime? if you know what i mean, i need to say this again love the book 😉

  2. Excellent weblog right here! Additionally your website quite a bit up very fast!
    What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink to your host?
    I wish my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  3. I have read a few good stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how a lot attempt you put to make the sort of great informative web site.

  4. Minnie mouse says:

    Amulet is awesome!

  5. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  6. Wow, that’s what I was exploring for, what a stuff! present here at this website, thanks admin of this website.

Leave a Reply

